MINUTES OF SPECIAL (LPT) MEETING (HYBRID) OF WICKLOW COUNTY COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY 14TH OCTOBER 2024, COMMENCING 2.00 PM IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER AND VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS

PRESENT:

COUNCILLORS P. O'BRIEN CATHAOIRLEACH, D, ALVEY, M. BARRY, J. BEHAN, S. BOURKE, M. CORRIGAN, A. CRONIN, E. DOYLE, M. DUDDY, G. DUNNE, L. FENELON GASKIN, O. FINN, P. FITZGERALD, A. FLYNN KENNEDY, T. FORTUNE, P. GLENNON, P. KENNEDY, S. LANGRELL, P. LEONARD, J. MULHALL, M. MURPHY, I. NEARY, D. O'BRIEN, , G. O'NEILL, W. O'TOOLE, G. RICHMOND, L. SCOTT, J. SNELL, P. STAPLETON, S. STOKES, E. TIMMINS AND C. WINSTANLEY (32)

APOLOGIES

IN ATTENDANCE:

MS. E. O'GORMAN, CHIEF EXECUTIVE MS. L. GALLAGHER, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES MS. M. MCNAMARA, A/DIRECTOR OF SERVICES **MS. L. EARLS, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES MR. J. LANE, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES MR. M. NICHOLSON, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES MR. B. GLEESON, DIRECTOR OF SERVICES** MS. H. PURCELL, SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER/MEETINGS ADMINISTRATOR MS. S. NICHOLS, A/SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER **MR. M. FLYNN, SENIOR ENGINEER MR. S. KEANE, A/SENIOR ENGINEER** MS. E. O'DONOVAN, HEAD OF INFORMATION SYSTEMS **MR. S. CLARKE, TOWN REGENERATION OFFICER MS. R. GILLESPIE, ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER MS. K. BOYLE, ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER** MS. R. WOOD, ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER **MS. M. HEGARTY, BUSINESS ADVISOR** MS. C. MURPHY, A/ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER MS. C. CULLIMORE, A/ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER **MS. K. BRAY, DIGITAL COMMUNICATIONS OFFICER MS. S. NUGENT, EXECUTIVE ACCOUNTANT MS. G. FRANEY, DISTRICT ADMINISTRATOR MR. G. HICKEY, DISTRICT ADMINISTRATOR MR. L. CULLEN, DISTRICT ADMINISTRATOR**

MR. M. FAUGHEY, IS PROJECT LEADER MR. G. MURPHY, IS TECHNICAL SUPPORT OFFICER MS. T. BYRNE, ASSISTANT STAFF OFFICER

At the commencement of the meeting a roll call was taken. The Meetings Administrator advised of meetings etiquette for online meetings and that the press and some members of the public were also present.

Votes of Sympathy

Elected Members passed a vote of sympathy to the families of the late Mr. Thomas Foley and Ms. Sheila Nolan. A minutes silence was observed for the deceased.

<u>ITEM NO. 1</u>

To consider the variation of the basic rate of Local Property Tax and the setting of the Local Adjustment Factor in accordance with the Finance (Local Property Tax) Act 2012 (as amended) to apply for the period as specified from the next local property tax liability date 1st November 2023.

Elected Members were circulated with:

• Report of Chief Executive dated 9th October 2024 to Members on the matters to which Wicklow County Council shall have regard to in the setting of the Local Adjustment Factor from the Chief Executive, Ms. Emer O'Gorman.

Mr. B. Gleeson, Director of Services gave a presentation on Local Property Tax (LPT) and the setting of the Local Adjustment Factor under the following areas:

- Budgetary process for Local Authorities.
- 2025 Budget process.
- LPT 2025 allocation.
- Elected Members decisions.
- The Local Property Tax (Local Adjustment Factor) Regulations 2014.
- Estimate of Income and Expenditure.
- 2025 budget adjustments.
- Financial position of Wicklow County Council.
- Financial effect on a liable person: 6% variation.
- Financial effect on a liable person: 10%.
- Financial effect on a liable person: 4% increase.
- Impact on Wicklow County Council revenue budget and service delivery for 2025.
- Public consultation process.
- LPT recommendation summary.

In conclusion, Mr. Gleeson's proposal is that the LPT rate is increased from 6% to 10%, which will be ring-fenced for footpath repairs and estate management across the 5 Municipal Districts. He also recommended that the rate is set for the lifetime of the Council. Mr. Gleeson advised the Elected Members that the Local Property Tax rate could be altered at any time during the five-year period.

Elected Members discussed the matter at length, some of the issues raised included:

- Discretionary funds available.
- Programme of work required for estate management and footpath repairs.
- Footpaths issues with accessibility.
- Principle of LPT people must pay.
- Public consultation.
- Democratic deficit.
- Valuation date for LPT was 1st November 2021, Revenue will review and bands may change.
- Council should review expenditure.
- Discretionary fund previously used in the provision of defibrillators, footpath repairs, Christmas lighting in towns and villages, big belly bin, charitable donations and many other positive local projects.
- System flawed, revenue raised in the county should stay in the county.
- Neglect of rural roads.
- Benefit for society broadens the tax base.
- Retention of 22% of funding from every new property.

The following proposals were put forward:

It was proposed by Clir. S. Stokes and seconded by Clir. A. Flynn Kennedy: In accordance with the provisions of Section 20 of the Finance (Local Property Tax) Act 2012, as amended, that the base rate of Local Property Tax should stand varied upwards by 6% for one year, 2025, in respect of relevant residential properties situated in the administrative area of Wicklow County Council.

It was proposed by Clir. J. Behan and seconded by Clir. I. Neary: In accordance with the provisions of section 20 of the Finance (Local Property Tax) Act 2012, as amended, the basic rate of Local Property Tax should stand varied downwards by 15% for one year, 2025, in respect of relevant residential properties situated in the administrative area of Wicklow County Council.

It was proposed by Clir. J. Snell and seconded by Clir. G. O'Neill: In accordance with the provisions of section 20 of the Finance (Local Property Tax) Act 2012, as amended, that the basic rate of Local Property Tax should be retained at the base rate for 2025 in respect of relevant residential properties situated in the administrative area of Wicklow County Council

The proposal put forward by Cllr. S. Stokes and seconded by Cllr. A. Flynn Kennedy 'In accordance with the provisions of Section 20 of the Finance (Local Property Tax) Act 2012, as amended, that the base rate of Local Property Tax should stand varied upwards by 6% for one year, 2025, in respect of relevant residential properties situated in the administrative area of Wicklow County Council' was put to a vote and following a roll call was passed by a margin of 21 for and 11 against viz:-

| FOR (21) | CLLRS. D. ALVEY, M. BARRY, S. BOURKE, M. CORRIGAN, A. CRONIN, E. DOYLE, G. DUNNE, L. FENELON GASKIN, P. FITZGERALD, A. FLYNN KENNEDY, P. GLENNON, S. LANGRELL, J. MULHALL, M. MURPHY, P. O'BRIEN, G. RICHMOND, L. SCOTT, P. STAPLETON, S. STOKES, E.TIMMINS AND C. WINSTANLEY |
|--------------|---|
| AGAINST (11) | CLLR. J. BEHAN, M. DUDDY, O. FINN, T. FORTUNE, P. KENNEDY, P. LEONARD, I. NEARY, D. O'BRIEN, G. O'NEILL. W. O'TOOLE AND J. SNELL |

THIS CONCLUDED THE BUSINESS OF THE MEETING

CLLR. PAUL O'BRIEN CATHAOIRLEACH WICKLOW COUNTY COUNCIL MS. HELEN PURCELL SENIOR EXECUTIVE OFFICER/ MEETINGS ADMINISTRATOR

Confirmed at meeting of Wicklow County Council held on Monday the 4th November 2024